Where has the Inspect tab gone?

I’m a designer working on web UI.

I want to hand some style parameters to a developer. Historically I’ve done this by going to ‘Inspect’, which was next to ‘Design’ and ‘Prototype’.

I’m aware that dev mode now has a cost implication, but Inspect was always a functioning solution. Has this feature now been paywalled?

What is the solution to my problem? Thanks for your time in advance.

9 Likes

Hi Olly,
Thanks for reaching out to the community. To give some clarification, after the Dev Mode beta ends, users who do not have a Full or Dev Mode seat will still be able to access information on designs through the Properties tab. This Properties tab is only visible to users viewing the file with view only access.

Users with editing access will be able to either use Dev Mode or inspect the design from the Design panel.

For more information on the view-only properties panel, you can check these following articles:

Hope this helps!

Thanks for your answer, Celine. It does clarify but unfortunately, it is not the same. The design tab doesn’t allow viewing the CSS, previously allowed for the starter plan.

I am really sad about this update as I don’t need the dev mode but can’t have the same info I had before :frowning:

9 Likes

The “Design” tab never provided a CSS code.

In “Design” mode or “View only” mode:

Or use plugins that are available in “Design” mode.

1 Like

Agree. The new properties panel doesn’t have nearly as many features as was available before. All the communication from Figma gave the impression that the only thing that would change regarding the inspect panel would be where it was located.

Any help or clarification would be appreciated!

7 Likes

Just bring the previous inspect tab and the way inspect worked back, please. Not everyone is going to use Dev mode. The current way to inspect is such a downgrade from what it was before.

12 Likes