Figma Support Forum

Support vector animations in "smart animate"

Currently, in Figma, smart animate only works on opacity, color fill, stroke, position, width&height. The options at your disposal when making an interactive prototype are pretty limited.

It would come in handy if Figma can expand the supported animatable properties to include: Radius, Effects (shadow spread), VectorNetwork, Polygon Ratio, Ellipse Sweep, Dash, etc.

2 Likes

That explains why I get funky shadow stuff happening with Smart Animate. They seem to lag behind the animation of the parent object.

1 Like

well it’s been a while since Adobe XD released auto animate for strokes, paths, and rotation. I’m a big fan of Figma and I adore its smoothness and super-efficient collaboration features over other UI software. As a senior UI designer, I have had so many UI design cases in which I needed to auto animate paths and strokes in order to deliver a smooth experience to my audience but unfortunately, Figma does not offer such a feature, Please, please, please consider adding this super useful feature in the latest interactive components beta version. Hope you guys at @Figma have already started developing smart animate for strokes, paths, and rotation.

Fingers crossed. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I don’t think your suggestion is related to interactive components in any way, it’s about smart animate limitations. So I’m moving it to #product-ideas.

By the way, strokes and rotations already work fine in Smart Animate. Only path morphing animations aren’t possible. Example of rotations: Figma - Branding for Bookclub | I LOVE the Smart Animate feature. It's been so helpful to make clean and clear client presentatio...

1 Like