Restricting branch user from viewing main file

Part of our workflow for sharing designs that we are comfortable with has been creating a “safe branch” where we can remove anything in progress but share the finished views to clients or other parts of the organization without the risk of them seeing things that are unfinished.

With the new changes to access rights for branch users, how can we restrict access to the main file?

Alternatively… how can we continue our workflow with these new changes which are quite annoying since they force access to something we explicitly don’t want the client to see.