Making a component responsive

Hi guys, total newbie here and trying to do my first component responsive I can’t make it to work!

I am trying to do the image and text responsive so when I make the main frame smaller, all the items go smaller too. I think I am struggling to understand how to use properly constrains, frames and auto layouts… Probably very obvious but my lack of understanding is not taking me very far XD

Any help would be appreciate it!
Thanks

2 Likes

Hey Ingrid! Welcome to the forum. You’ve come to a good place to get help :muscle:t2:

One quirk to be aware of (which is not very obvious, so do not feel bad for not knowing) is that auto layout and constraints do not mix, so it’s important to choose one over the other when building a component. In my experience, choosing auto layout is usually the correct choice most of the time. Only when I’m working with absolute positioning do I use constraints. Based on your screenshot of the component you’re working on, auto layout looks like the way to go!

Next I’d recommend making sure you’ve got a confident understanding how auto layout works. Figma has awesome, and short, educational videos like this one that could be good to review. My quick explanation would be “making a regular frame into an auto layout frame is like creating a stronger relationship between the frame and the things inside of it. They’re aware of each other, and respect each other’s settings.” A button component using auto layout is a frame that is respecting the width of the text layer inside of it, growing and shrinking depending on how much space the text takes up.

So for your component it looks like you’ve got a frame that has 3 things in it:

• An image
  • A heading (“Montessori”)
  • A paragraph (“Lorem ipsum…”)
  • A line

I’d suggest removing the containing frames that surround those objects and place them on the canvas to re-build your component from scratch following these steps: