Gradient fill angle

Hi, I’m seeing an angle on gradient fill, even though I should not. Is it something I’m doing wrong or a bug?

Thanks!

Hi @Regi ,

Hmm at first I could not recreate your screen, but I found out. I think its a bug, but I am not an expert on fills and gradients.

When first selecting linear fill you get a usercontrol to control the angle, color, etc. but also a control that is used in other fill-modes, but I dont see what to use for in linear:

If I use the handle and drags it towards the start-color nothing happens at first:

…but then if I release it on top of the start-color I get to your example:

From there on it just gets weird, sometimes I cannot get back to the control, and sometimes the colors are rotated:

Seems like a bug to me, but then again: I’m no expert on linear fill, perhaps there is some kind of reason behind this? :slight_smile:

This is a bug that I’ve reported for OVER A YEAR AGO, and which still has not been fixed. It is incredibly annoying that Figma can’t fix such a core bug making angled gradient styles unusable. The bug stems from the aforementioned usercontrol handle which controls the angle not resetting properly with the gradients orientation when applied to a different shape.

To replicate the bug, create a rectangle with angled gradient from one corner to another like below, note the position of the handle circled orange (shape one).

Now copypaste the gradient onto a new shape that is much wider instead (shape two).

You will notice that the circled handle is bugged, retaining its position relative to the shape instead of canvas, making gradient appear like it goes from top to bottom instead of diagonally from corner to corner.

To reset the gradient to its proper look, simply grab the circled handle and nudge it, it will snap to its intended position making gradient look proper (shape three)

This bug makes angled gradient styles unusable as they appear to be completely wrongly oriented.

2 Likes