Custom zoom level

Figma newbie here,

Say I’m designing an iPhone app, and I know that with my specific display, around 80% zoom level in Figma is the right size compared to the physical size of the phone. While working, I’ll zoom in and out without much care for exactness, but every now and then I’d like to jump to the precise value of 80% zoom to check the text sizes and whatnot.

The only way I know of doing this is clicking the zoom input in the top-right corner, typing in 80 and then Return. Not exactly terrible, but still annoying if repeated dozens or hundreds of times a day.

Is there a way to create a shortcut for custom zoom levels? If not, any other alternatives?

6 Likes

This is not possible but you may be able to find some plugins that let you return to specific saved views.

I have a related wish, to reduce or adjust the zoom increments, because the zoom jumps from 50% to 100% when all I need is just a small increment, like ±5% or so.

Zoom increments are simply too huge which forces me to write by hand the zoom value instead of using the keyboard shortcut.

5 Likes

Two years later and this feature is still not added to Figma. We need to be able to adjust the increments between zoom level! I am constantly having to type in 80% because 50% and 100% are just two extremes that are not catered to most of the preset artboard/frame pixel ratios.

The only solution I found is this:

On an Apple Magic Mouse:

• Hold down ⌘ Command (Mac) or Ctrl (Windows) and scroll up and down
• Double-tap with one finger to zoom in and back out

On another type of mouse:

• Hold down ⌘ Command (Mac) or Ctrl (Windows) and scroll the mouse wheel up to zoom in or down to zoom out.

1 Like