Add ability to align to key object

It would be great if you could add the option to align multiple objects to a key object (like in Adobe Illustrator).

You can see more here: Select & Align to Key Object | Illustrator Tutorial

If anyone else wants this or has other alignment suggestions please upvote this topic and comment.

19 Likes

There’s this plugin I’ve been using for a few years, and it does the job very well.

Align To

4 Likes

+1. I miss this feature from Illustrator. The “click to set key object” feature linked in above video would be nice to have in Figma natively.

4 Likes

That’s good to know about. Thanks. It would be nice to have this natively in Figma though

4 Likes

Yeah, we need this feature ASAP.

4 Likes

After moving some projects to Figma, it was one of the first features I looked for, but couldn’t find. Needed, indeed. Quite basic. Plugins are cool, but such functionality should be part of the core solution.

4 Likes

You can get a similar effect by using frames and in combination with Automater plugin.

Here are the steps you have to do:

1. Frame the elements including the anchor
  2. Select the layer that you want to use as an anchor
  3. Use “Resize Parent” command from Automater
  4. Align layers one by one using native features or use Align features from Automater to align multiple layers at once.

Let me know if you want to see the flow recorded. :grin:

I’ve spent an embarrassingly long time trying out different methods to do alignment operations efficiently with different anchor points.

What I can tell you is that unless the anchor is smaller than the other alignment object, you don’t need to fiddle with telling figma which object is the anchor.

There are two alignment fundamentals you need to know to align stuff quick and efficiently:

1. Alignment on a single object/frame/group selection aligns relative to the parent frame
  2. Alignment on multiple selection aligns to the selection bounding box.