Switch to read-only mode

I get nervous having edit-access to a Figma file sometimes, especially as an engineer. I don’t want to accidentally make a change to something in the file.

It would be great if there was a way to switch myself to a read-only mode (temporarily) to avoid accidentally breaking/changing something.

For now, I’ve just been creating a new branch. If I change something on the branch, then I don’t need to worry.

28 Likes

having the same issue, yes please!

1 Like

Came here to see if there a way to turn off editing. I feel you, bro. Hope they make it easier to turn on and off.

4 Likes

I had a bad experience with Figma. A coworker blamed me for ruining weeks his work after I made a few comments.

How could I have done such a thing? I’m no novice internet user. Upon closer inspection, I saw there were several revisions associated with my account. Somehow, I may have accidentally edited his diagram. Maybe a cat walked across my keyboard while I was afk with the browser tab open?

How it happened, is still a mystery. However, all the blame, pain, and anguish could have been avoided if I had the ability to enter a read-only or comment-only mode. (As I compose this reply, I notice that even this forum response offers a “Switch to read-only mode” feature!)

I aspire to be the cautionary tale that motivates a brighter future where collaborators can suggest improvements on the Figma diagrams of ornery authors without fear of unjustified reprisals.

3 Likes

Oh Graeme! I really feel for you!! This is precisely the type of experience I want to avoid (except instead of a cat, it’s blatantly going to be me who messes it up :smile: ).

I hope Figma can add this read-only feature to avoid this sort of thing in the future! Thanks for sharing your real-life experience.

1 Like

Please add read only feature!!! It ruins all the product.

2 Likes