Please Help me how to create Icon Library in Figma

Iam a new beginner and Iam learning Figma. Please Help me how to create Icon Library in Figma

If you’re new to icon design in general, you can start by recreating designs you see online or in other icon libraries. I’m no expert in icons but for the icon libraries that I had to mantain i’ve learned a few things that I wish i’d know earlier; here are some tips for you:

• Establish a default icon size (Mine’s 24 x 24) and don’t change it under any circumstance, this will affect in the long run, your instances can always be resized anyways.
  • Define a stroke size to use for the lines, decide if the endpoints are going to be round or square and draw your icons accordingly.
  • When creating the icons, always save an editable frame of your icon (without the strokes outlined) for future changes if needed.
  • For “flattening” the icons to their final possible svg output, try to avoid problems or bugs that can happen when outlining strokes by deactivating “Snap to pixel grid” and nudge ever so slightly the conflicting point and try flatten it again.
  • Once converted begin cleaning up the vector (you can use shift + backspace to delete a point while mantaining the flow of the curve).
  • Rename the layer of the icon (it should only be one layer if you want color change to work) to an “standarized” name and select one default color from your library for every icon regardless of their use in the future, this means: convert each line to a outlined vector with colored fill applied instead of colored stroke.
  • Set the constrains of the icon to “scale” on both dimensions and use the plugin “Fill Rule Editor” to audit each icon and make sure every icon has the same fill rule and consistent drawing direction to ensure proper svg and iconfont conversion
  • Set the background of all your icons to none and order them in your file, you can rename them with slashes “/” to group them in categories