Figma Support Forum

Clearer indication when charging for additional editors

We had to migrate files across different accounts. The only way we found possible was to add the origin account as editor and transfer the files and ownership. Anything else resulted in losing edit privileges during the process.

A month later, we get a notice that we owe 15$.

During the interaction of adding another editor, we never got any feedback from Figma about that costing an extra 15$.

Now, we got a ticket about the issue but, as usual, it delays days to be handled (another drawback that needs to be addressed).

Last but not least, even the editor account that was paid for one year in advance is now locked.

This is not the best way you can do this. You need to provide feedback to the users when they come across an interaction implies an additional charge (yes, even if it’s somewhere documented). Instead of suspending editors, make the add editor interaction prepaid (like it normally is when you get the first editor), so that you don’t prevent paid editors from using the service, which is not a proper because those editors were paid.

This topic was automatically closed 30 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.

Now it is way too easy to add editors unintentionally and there is no warning about extra change for each one of them. I understand that it’s very beneficial for the company but not very friendly for designers, especially freelancers that are working with different external teams. I’m keeping getting charged for people I accidentally gave editing rights some time ago.

I’d suggest:
a) to make a warning before one user gives another editing rights to reduce the number of mistakes. Just to interrupt the flow for a second and remind them that adding editors is not free.
b) easier access to the member’s page. Now I can see contributors on the right panel, but to edit the list I have to dig inside the workspace, member tabs. Why not combine them?

1 Like

Our team account’s annual charge has been ballooning because we’ve “unknowingly” added editors to the account.

When inviting people to view a Figma file it is very simple to change a user’s status from viewer to editor but there’s no indication that in doing so you are adding team member license in the process. This “checkout” process feels very misleading and has caused team admins to add multiple subscriptions without realizing it.

Please add clear message for each time you change users permission so that it’s obvious that an additional charge will take place when a team member’s status is changed.

Hey! The same thing happened to me last year and just now! I received a 45$ for three viewers than became editors without me knowing or allowing!

Figma last year only refunded me 50% of a few months of an extra editor. Smh