Instanced components, how does inheritance work? Can't figure out a supposed bug

Hi! I am having issues understanding why my components are behaving the way they do, see this video for the illustration of the problem: https://i.gyazo.com/8b24eaf38e2bc9dc1dddfa08be71b2d7.mp4

I have a master with different tab states, default, hover and active. I then instance those tabs in “Main tabs - Master” with all the tabs named appropriately. Then I again instance that tab menu with variations of the active tab for easy switching between them in designs.

The issue, as you can see, is that when I change a tab’s variant to active in the final component, it stops receiving text updates from “Main tabs - Master”, why? It’s only text that is being affected in such a way, changing the color of the tab anywhere propagates as it should. All text layers are named same

File in question: https://www.figma.com/file/OaeZ3RocfgUjWA4ikKsWJG/Instance-issue?node-id=0%3A1&t=wvaVxU53Xh6hYJdq-1

Bump, anyone knows?

Bump, anyone knows?

The way I see it is that once you change the tab state it becomes an override on that particular instance thus it does not receive further updates. And it happens as soon as you wrap your master with variants. The deeper you go the more rigid it gets as Figma treats overrides on these instances sitting in other component with higher priority.

I don’t have a chance to check now, so I assume that any master instance would not have that problem as long as it’s not a part of another component

Yeah I was thinking something similar, but what puzzles me is why text specifically behaves that way. I can change the colors and other properties on the masters and they will propagate, but text specifically won’t.

My take is that variant isn’t the same as the entire component set, so when you change one state to another, you simply swap the instances. Every state in “Menu tab - Master” is a component.