Hey @Ben_Marker, thanks for reaching out!
When moving users to a different lower cost seat, we first check to see whether that lower cost seat is available in your plan. (A seat is available if it is not assigned to a user.)
- If the seat is available: The seat is assigned to the user, and their previous seat is made available for someone else to use. (This results in no additional seats or costs.)
- If the seat is not available: You need to purchase the desired seat for this user, and their existing seat will be made available for someone else to use.
From what you’ve described, you have no need to keep the existing seats available to others. Since we’re not able to assist with billing here on the forum, please reach out to the support team directly: https://help.figma.com/hc/en-us/requests/new