Skip to main content
Ben_Marker
New Participant
March 25, 2025
Solved

How to downgrade seats without paying more?

  • March 25, 2025
  • 11 replies
  • 697 views

I have 4 full seats that we’ve been paying for.  3 need only dev mode access.  When trying to downgrade the users, it says I will be billed additionally for the 3 users I need to downgrade.  I don’t want additional 3 additional dev seats, I want 1 full and 3 dev.  How do I do this?  I keep getting prompted that each change will be an addition, not a change???

This topic has been closed for replies.
Best answer by djv

Hey ​@Ben_Marker, thanks for reaching out! 
 

When moving users to a different lower cost seat, we first check to see whether that lower cost seat is available in your plan. (A seat is available if it is not assigned to a user.)

  • If the seat is available: The seat is assigned to the user, and their previous seat is made available for someone else to use. (This results in no additional seats or costs.)
  • If the seat is not available: You need to purchase the desired seat for this user, and their existing seat will be made available for someone else to use.

From what you’ve described, you have no need to keep the existing seats available to others. Since we’re not able to assist with billing here on the forum, please reach out to the support team directly: https://help.figma.com/hc/en-us/requests/new

11 replies

Ben_Marker
New Participant
April 18, 2025

@dvaliao  What is the charge for 3 dev seat adjustments? Is this a prorated amount for the remaining days before it renews?