Disappearing Images in Figma

I’ve been using Figma for a few months, moving from Sketch. I have a fairly large working file, which was fine until today—I installed the desktop app, and suddenly I have bitmaps not appearing in my file. This is reflected in both the web browser and desktop apps, viewing the same file.

I’ve tried a few things, per the suggestions of folks here. Those things include running a terminal command to clear the Figma cache, and flattening the image. Neither of these have worked.

Moving back to Sketch until further notice.

I’ve also noticed that bitmaps on the somewhat large size look pixelated and unreadable in Figma. This is something that would take some getting used to, and I’m not sure I’m up for it. Please advise.

I’m encountering the same problems. Images in my frames were visible on 13 Dec SGT time, and 14 Dec, some of them disappeared and turned black. The layer of the image is there, but it’s just a black layer.

I copied it back from another file i had a backup for, but it’s still not working.
File A Backup - Ctrl C (image visible)
File B with issue - Ctrl V (black color) error says - invalid thumbnail image was removed

I have been working on a file for weeks now and all of a sudden, just when I was rounding up, some images I have on the file disappeared. This is really frustrating, I have refreshed, closed the App, Open the file again, No way.

What do I do?

2 Likes

I have the same problem(

1 Like

I had many PNG images in my Figma file that saved. Returning to the file, the images aren’t visible and the names aren’t in the layers panel. When I try to replace the images (I’ve tried dragging files in and ‘placing’ them), they never load and appear. I’ve tried logging in and out of my account, and closing the browser. When I look at previous versions of my Figma file, the images don’t appear either. What should I do?

Hey @Nailah_Huq,

Is this only happening with Figma using the browser? Have you tried the Desktop app?