Skip to main content
Ester_Valorio
May 29, 2024
Question

What happened to the "Can view prototypes only" permission?

  • May 29, 2024
  • 27 replies
  • 4423 views

Hello dear Community,

As we’re continuously working with clients, our team was really fond of the setting “can view prototypes only”: sometimes we would invite specific people to view a prototype, other times we would allow anyone with the link and password to view the prototypes. This allowed us to be sure not to share the actual design file with the client (sometimes because they wouldn’t need it, or because we would prepare a specific file for the client).

Here is a screenshot I found online for reference:

We recently figured out that Figma updated the Share modal:
image

So, the text in the bubble seemed clear, but then the settings texts just got me a bit confused, I guess it’s because they use similar wording which might seem contradicting at a first glance (keep in mind my team and I are not native English speakers):

Screenshot 2024-05-23 at 16.23.47

Furthermore, we got quite overwhelmed as we’re working with files which are 2+ years old and those are shared with clients, therefore we wanted to check if any settings changed. Some files have this message over the share settings:

Screenshot 2024-05-29 at 10.49.57

Do you have any recommendations to follow? Am I the only one who got disoriented from this update? I also looked up on the Figma help platform, the forums and anywhere on the Internet but haven’t found anything specific.

PS: I really hope Figma will create a Best Practice guide page which could be really helpful and inspiring on this matter!

This topic has been closed for replies.

27 replies

Leah_Fessler
October 27, 2024

Agreed! We are having issues where our clients are getting notified when we comment to each other in our designs and view our prototypes before presentations. We want to lock that down so they can only view the presentations.

Jerry4
October 27, 2024

I have the same issue, please fix this 🥲🥲

Celine_
Figmate
Community Support
October 28, 2024

Hey everyone, this looks odd. I can’t reproduce it on my end 🤔
Please also make sure they are not invited to the main file to ensure they can only access the prototype.

If the issue still occurs, I’d like our support team to investigate further with a URL of your file so they can try to replicate directly: here
Be also sure to use your Figma email account, include a link to the file, and add support-share@figma.com as an Editor (this won’t impact your billing at all), and also share a quick video recording with the steps you have done, so we can better visualise it. Thanks!

Alex173
December 16, 2024

So, are the above steps only work on paid plans?

Celine_
Figmate
Community Support
December 16, 2024

Hey there! Sharing files and prototypes are available on any team or plan.

More information on the sharing options:

Figma Learn - Help Center
Alex173
December 16, 2024

When I start the prototype and tap Share prototype, then the person that I’m sending the link to is able to click on “Open in editor” and see the entire project (when I don’t want him to). Can’t prototype and project be made separate?

Celine_
Figmate
Community Support
December 16, 2024

Can you please make sure to follow the steps mentioned by Denise. This should only give access to the prototype (View access):

I’ve also created a video to help you better visualise how to edit the settings. Please ensure you share the copy link using the blue link , next to ‘Share this prototype’ in the right hand corner – in the popup):

What the other user will view upon opening the prototype link:

Alex173
December 16, 2024

Thanks for the videos, Celine! But after repeating the steps and upon clicking “Save” (view the prototype for anyone) I get the message that this is for payed plans only (see screenshots).

Celine_
Figmate
Community Support
December 17, 2024

Thanks for the screenshot and apologize for any confusion!
Unfortunately, this feature – prototype-specific access permissions- is only available for paid plans.

To provide more context:

  • If the access level for both the design file and prototype are the same, all plan tiers can share without issue.
  • However, if the prototype’s access level is different from the file, then it requires professional plan at least.

To clarify, the permission state actually still exists, that’s how prototypes can be accessed separately from the file in design mode. However, we don’t show the “prototypes only” permission type anymore as an option.

It’s inferred based on where you share the resource:

  • Sharing from file is file specific (prototype can inherit from this)
  • Sharing from prototype is prototype specific (can be different from file on pro plan or higher paid plans)

Hope this helps!

Norbert_van_Haaster
New Member
February 13, 2025

The option to grant the right to leave comments or not, seems to have gone missing.

Sometimes you want to share prototypes with a larger audience without the risk of getting your stakeholder comments cluttered up with noise.