Skip to main content
Bobby Klucevsek
New Member
Sep 16, 2025 12:39 PM UTC
Solved

Clarification re: the [Discoverable via search] option and global settings

In the Share settings of a given file (Share button >  Can view > Advanced), the Discoverable via search checkbox option is unchecked by default.

I would think this refers to search within Figma (vs discoverable in general search engines), but searching for these files returns them in the results even with this setting is unchecked and when I’m not a member of the Team or Project.

What does checking or unchecking this option actually do? And is there a way to globally, or at a Team level, change the default setting?

 

 

This topic has been closed for replies.
djv
djvSolution
Community Support
Sep 16, 2025 6:20 PM UTC

Hi ​@Bobby Klucevsek, thanks for reaching out! 

This may be happening due to the permissions set at the project level. When Discoverable via search is toggled off, organization members will not be able to find the file via search, but it may still populate for them via search if they already have access to the file’s parent project.

More information about access and permissions inheritance is available here: https://help.figma.com/hc/en-us/articles/360040531773-Share-files-and-prototypes#h_01HWXCDSW2W2XAM58QK7YBX71C

4 replies

djv
Figmate
djvSolution
Community Support
Sep 16, 2025 6:20 PM UTC

Hi ​@Bobby Klucevsek, thanks for reaching out! 

This may be happening due to the permissions set at the project level. When Discoverable via search is toggled off, organization members will not be able to find the file via search, but it may still populate for them via search if they already have access to the file’s parent project.

More information about access and permissions inheritance is available here: https://help.figma.com/hc/en-us/articles/360040531773-Share-files-and-prototypes#h_01HWXCDSW2W2XAM58QK7YBX71C

Bobby Klucevsek
New Member
Sep 29, 2025 3:31 PM UTC

I see, OK. So the setting is specifically for being discoverable in search to members without access to the Project or Team, if I’m understanding correctly?

djv
Figmate
Community Support
Sep 29, 2025 10:35 PM UTC

Hi ​@Bobby Klucevsek, 

Yes - that is correct. The setting only applies to members who do not have access to the Project or Team, because those settings will be automatically inherited. 

Bobby Klucevsek
New Member
Oct 20, 2025 1:56 PM UTC

I see – thanks for clarifying, ​@djv.