Export/record prototype to Video or GIF

1. As a designer I would like to record my prototype screen or export it as a gif so I can use it in presentations and send quick examples in the team group.

2. It would be great to have the same feature then Principle to record or export the prototype to gif.

3. Does anyone have the same need? Is anyone using a plugin or workaround to help solve this?

188 Likes

I’m waiting for this so much. I was talking about it here.

8 Likes

Absolutely… and to Lottie… would love to have more export options for animations made in Figma in general… so much can be done, but there is no “animation export” option.

Also, exporting a prototype to video is a big deal. When you do social media in Figma (yes you can), well exporting animated content to Instagram stories is a pain. It would be very nice to just make it happen (and stop waiting/relying on plugins’ creator like Sketch did and now dying)

20 Likes

Yup yup and yup. I love Protopie for this reason, I can’t stop myself from wanting ALL THE FEATURES OF PROTOPIE and hoping that figma adopts.

3 Likes

+1

1 Like

Hi @Felipe_Almeida , as a workaround I typically

1. Initiate prototype view
  2. use command+shift+5 (on MacOS) to select a portion of the presentation view to record.
  3. While recording, interact with the prototype to record in real-time
  4. Import the recording into Kap (or similar) to quickly edit/resize/export to gif or another format as needed.
19 Likes

Is there a way to easily export prototypes and presentations ?
It could be PPT, impress, HTML5 but also video (MP4, GIF).

Share URLs is great but sometimes you’d like to save presentations. Those days i’m using transitions as an animation tool (like here) and I have to use a screen recorder then crop the video in Premiere; it would be so cool to export a vidéo !

Thanks

+1