Send out unchanging prototype and/or developer links

I’m trying to learn Figma coming from XD. We created locked versions for customers to view prototypes and then later a lock version for the developer to work from.

I’ve looked at versions built-into Figma for this, but I’m presuming that the prototype share link I give out will be updated immediately with any updates, instead of remaining locked in place. So I have to create a new Fig file rather to create this locked version for a customer and for the developers.

I don’t want updates after this version to reflect in the prototype link until i share a new prototype link. Am I right in saying that versions isn’t supposed to be used like this/used for this. Maybe this is this new feature called branching which is in beta?