Prototype an “add” button and cart icon on the same screen

I want to create in a prototype a screen where there are multiple buttons that add an item to a cart. However, I don’t want that the add button takes you to another screen. I want when the add button is clicked it to shows a number of items in the cart icon on the same screen. Kind of like you see in many actual apps. Is it possible to do? Please be detailed as I am new at this.

Hi @Marlene_Horwitz! As I wrote to you earlier, you need to create a component set with variants. The Add button and Basket must be in the same variant.

I made an example for you.
Design file:

Prototype:

Your design may be different from mine, and you may need to navigate to a different frame instead of using interactive components.

2 Likes

Now I understand better. I don’t know why I keep confusing the frames with a different screen. Seeing the visual of it is clearer.

Yours is just on add button however mine has multiple. So each time the someone add the number in the basket need to go up accordingly. Obviously its possible in the app I guess because of the coding but is that possible also in a prototype or no? Thanks

Do you really need to show this in a prototype? Then only through “Navigate to”.

See the design file at the link above, only on Page 2.
Prototype:

And in order for the number on the badge to change, you need to kill time to create each new screen (frame) for the desired combination.

Figma has no logical conditions to do this. You can vote for the addition of this function in this topic: Prototyping | Conditional logic & variables

Well, I don’t know. I may have to. I am a student. I am doing Google’s online UX course. :roll_eyes: Not the best course as you can’t get any answers from instructors to questions.