Need help Figma is not the same as 4-5 months ago

I am a UX student and I used Figma in my first project. It was so easy and intuitive, I had no problems. I am now roughly 4 months later working on a 3rd project ( did my second one in Adobe XD) and Figma is not working correctly for even basic things.
-I tried to draw a rectangle and it would not align with the left side of the page even though it was drawn from the left. No matter what I tried it would not align on the left. It would align on the right. If I tried to lengthen it the right side would just get longer and go over the page ( desktop layout).
-I tried to create text to overlay on the rectangle and the text would only go in very upper left corner and would cause the rectangle to shorten and move away from the text. I selected the text to try to move it where I wanted wont move. I could get the text to move to the top center of the screen by hitting align buttons on the right. But thats it. I cant place the text where I want and I had to delete the rectangle to get the text to the center.

• I try to draw a line across the screen, it only wants to go in the very top of the screen and I cannot drag it lower.

-It seems nothing is movable or draggable to place where I want and objects are reacting to each other when I dont want them to! I want individual control of each component.

What am I missing here? Is there a new update to controls I need to turn off somewhere? I did have to figure out to turn hugging off so the rectangle I was trying to draw would stop resizing my desktop layout. I am so confused how this went from so easy to use to impossible! Please help!