Unsure how to load fonts

Hi, I’m trying to load a font to use in a simple text box, but keep getting this error:

Cannot write to node with unloaded font “Roboto Regular”. Please call figma.loadFontAsync({ family: “Roboto”, style: “Regular” }) and await the returned promise first.

This is my code:

async function createNewTextStyle() {
  // Style does not yet exist, so create it
  const newStyle = figma.createTextStyle();

// the new text style is preloaded with Roboto, so we need to load that
  await figma.loadFontAsync(newStyle.fontName);

// This is the font i want to set my text style to.
  // it seems that this promise never resolves (or errors).
  await figma.loadFontAsync({
      family: 'Roboto',
      style: 'Regular',
  });

// Set the properties of the text style
  newStyle.fontName = {
  };
}
createNewTextStyle();

I’m pretty new to JavaScript so I’m sure I’ve done something wrong, would love some help on this.

This function looks good to me (but can’t test now). Which line are you getting this error at? It seems like it doesn’t come from this function at all, as “writing to node” implies you are changing characters on the text element on canvas. Also I’m pretty sure you don’t need to load the default font of the style to change it, only the new font needs to be loaded.

Right okay I think that makes sense since I don’t think it’s coming from the function. Why would the error occur when I try to change characters on the text element. For reference this is where I call the text element.

const title1 = figma.createText();
  title1.fills = [{type: "GRADIENT_LINEAR", gradientTransform: [[1,0,0], [0,1,0]], gradientStops: [{position: 0, color: {r: 0.094, g: 0.098, b: 0.235, a: 1}}, {position: 1, color: {r: 0.149, g: 0.156, b: 0.380, a: 1}}]     }];
  title1.characters = ("Cover Title");
  title1.fontSize = (100);