Request for Assistance: Downgrading Number of Seats and Adjusting Billing

Hi @Celine_Figma,

I hope you all are doing well.

I recently upgraded my professional plan which include 4 seats, but I now need to downgrade it to 3 seats. I’m looking for guidance on how to proceed with this change and ensure that my billing is updated accordingly.

If anyone has experience with this process or can provide detailed steps, I would greatly appreciate your assistance. Also, if there are any specific contact points or forms I need to fill out, please let me know.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Best regards,

Hey @launch2022 ,
Welcome to the community and thanks for reaching out to us! In order to remove your upcoming invoice, you’ll need to downgrade any additional editors to viewer-restricted before your next billing cycle.

Here’s an article that explains you how to manage seats on the Professional Plan.

Please downgrade any additional editor(design or FigJam) to the Viewer - Restricted role. You can also set the default user type for your account as Viewer-Restricted , which is both a free seat and will require permissions for that user to be upgraded to a paid seat. This can help prevent additional charges in the future. You can see more about default roles here.

You can do this and manage all current users by following these steps:

  1. Select the admin console next to your team name on the left side of the file browser
  2. Navigate to the Members tab of your team page
  3. Set the Design role and FigJam role filters to Full to display all billed users
  4. Downgrade any Full seat to Viewer - Restricted to remove that user from billing

Additionally, this Help Center article can provide more information about this process: Manage team permissions. I also recommend having an admin set up email notifications to receive an alert when a full seat is upgraded, as well. You can see more about notifications here.

If you are still having issues, you can also reach out to the support team by filling this form: here. Hope this helps!

Hey @launch2022
I guess it depends on whether you have booked the seats with an annual or monthly billing. The number of seats will probably be updated at the end of the current billing period. For example, if you pay monthly, your 3 seats will be taken into account from the following month. In the case of an annual payment, the extra seat you have paid for will remain and can be used.