Impossible to animate progression circle in Figma

Hi everyone! I’m new to Figma, coming from XD. One of my favourite things in XD is animating progression circles, which can be done intuitively and in seconds.

I found out, not without surprise today, that this is impossible in Figma.

Maybe I heard too much about Figma and overbuild my expectations? Or maybe I’m not doing something right? Please, let me know if you know something I don’t.

Thanks in advance! :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Hey Ioan, this sounds like something you should be able to achieve in Figma. While it’s not an exact match of what you described (a “progression circle”), this 4m tutorial from Abraham John on how to create a circular loading animation might be of use. I believe the same principles and component structure would apply for a progression circle, just without having the animation loop back to the beginning.

Hi Alice and thank you for your answer!

However, what I want to animate is a “progression” circle, not a “loading” one. Loading circle is easy to make - you just slap gradient on a circle and rotate the whole thing.

Loading circle means to animate the vector shape of the circle itself. You can animate only parts (separate vector points) of an object. Like when you want to show quantitative data with a circle. When at 20%, the circle length 20% and when at 80%, the length increases accordingly. And this transition can be “animated” in XD.

It’s somewhat advance feature that I was sure Figma would have it too, being so praised. Figma let you manipulate circles when in “Design”, but when in “Prototype” does not let you animate it. Only transition from one state to the other.

To do that in Figma you would need two arcs and two masks. Initially you would rotate the first arc and then continue with the second one. So the first arc would reflect 0-50% progress and the second one is for 50-100%. Unfortunately there is no way to animate vector parts and props themselves